Conversations with a 2 year old

 

I have come to find that I am fluent in speaking toddler.  Well, my toddler anyway.  It’s kind of cute the way he approaches his language learning.  He will make up words for things that he can’t pronounce yet… and I’ve been wanting to compile an English to Toddler dictionary of his words for a while now, so here I will share just a few:

  • Water – “choo”
  • Milk – “cow choo”
  • Truck – “Rrrrr!”
  • Tractor – “RRRRR!”
  • Dog – “woo!”
  • Button – “butt”
  • Pee – “poop”
  • Poop – “dapoop”
  • Orange juice – “orange juice” (I’m not even kidding, that kid can say it clear as day.)

That’s just a few terms in his ever expanding vocabulary.  And expanding it is… rapidly!  When Nick wants to know the name of an object, he will ask (and ask, and ask) “Whassat?”  And it’s adorable folks, until you’ve had to respond to it like, a million times in a day.  And then do it all over again the next day for the same object.

Case in point; yesterday I was reading him a book where on one page there were some pictures of a fly.  He pointed to it and this is how the conversation went:

– Mommy! Da bee?

– Oh, no babe, that’s a fly.

– Bee?

– Nope, it’s a fly.

– Bee?

– Honey, no.  It’s a fly.  Say fly.

– Bee?

– Fly.

– Bee?

– No.

– Mommy, bee?

– No.

– Bee?

– NO.

– Bee?

– Gah, nooooo!  Babe, it’s a fly!  Say fly.

– … Das a bee.

– Sure.

Everyday we have a conversation similar to this. I’m sure you can relate?

🙂

~ Melissa

2 thoughts on “Conversations with a 2 year old

Leave a comment